Midterm Oh Me Oh My

Well folks its midterm here at school and for once I don’t feel like I’m floundering. Check back with me in twenty four hours to see if I feel the same way. However, I feel the most prepared for midterms in a very long time. I’ve been making work that it out of my comfort zone but still feels natural; and dare I even say it- exciting. It’s been such a long time since I’ve been excited with metals and it’s a nice thing to feel again. I’ve also submitted a piece for the MECA Collect Sale. It’s another new piece that I’m also fond of. On one hand I want it to sell, but on the other I want to get it back to keep as my own.

IMG_4181

horsehair, sterling silver and freshwater pearls

I’ve just finalized my plans to go home for an event to help out with the girls. I’m super excited to get back in the barn even if I’m not the one competing. I’ll admit that I’ve been dying to try out the new tail braiding technique that I saw recently. It also helps that I’ll be able to get a ride or two in on Pi while I’m home. I can’t wait to see my giant goober. It’ll also be great to go and cheer on some of the girls who I’ve become very fond of during the summer.

It’s also turned to autumn in New England. Autumn is my favorite time of the year. The air is crisp and cool without freezing everything. Being a Vermonter the leaves turning colors also illicit a pure feeling of exhilarating joy. The forests look as if they’re ablaze and alive with colors. While Maine has quite a few trees Portland doesn’t have nearly enough for me. I have to go home for Halloween to have surgery on a toe (a souvenir of the musicals I did in High School and the character shoes that hurt my feet). It’ll be nice to go home for another weekend to actually see my family.

Leave a comment