Beautiful Moments and Book Submissions

Okay, I know, it’s Tuesday and not Monday. I’m afraid I had my post all written on my mobile app and then accidently closed the app without saving my post. After that I didn’t quite feel like rewriting the post and was a bit occupied.
It’s been another week full of moments. I’ve begun realizing that being in Italy affected me more than I realized. I find that after living in a place so imbued with history and art that instead of turning on my blinders in my environments I’m more aware my surroundings. I pay attention to the details more and more (I know I didn’t think it was possible for this very detail oriented person) even in the places that I spend quite a bit of time in. In Vermont with all of the quirky things placed around I’m finding myself falling more and more in love with Vermont and all of the small moments I find. In spending time with a very significant person, we were driving in Thetford and I happened to see up in a tree a sculpture of a lizard with a vibrant red heart atop it. Those small quirky things indear Vermont to me more, and more and make me realize that I want to spend my life here. I loved Italy and those will be some of the most precious moments of my life, however, Vermont is home-and more importantly my home.

IMG_3747

the someone special, Mitch, and I at the rodeo this past weekend

Pirate and I have been doing well. I’ll admit that between being exhausted from work, poor weather (part of the indoor is currently occupied by hay and construction materials and Pi’s butt is too big) and a new relationship I haven’t been riding as much. When I have been riding I feel that Pi and I have been having a better connection. from the lesson I took with Amanda I feel that she’s given me another couple of tools that are vastly paying off. I’ve been focusing on keeping the proper pressure in my outside rein and relaxing and giving with my inner rein. Combined with using my inner leg to help round Pi and drive him into my outer rein and leaning back farther we’re suddenly keeping much more connection and he’s rounding and lowering his head into the bit and my hands. We’ve also been jumping again. He’s begun to realize that jumping is something that can be done in a relaxed fashion without fussing and being overly excited. We also had the rewarding moment when while warming up we explored a little trail and he calmly perused it with me. Normally he gets fussy on the trail so this was a big win for us!

IMG_3724

hand-grazing Pi after a much needed hosing down

On another exciting note I’ve made my first artist book submission. It’s validating as a maker and an artist to submit to the book. I submitted  a horsehair necklace (surprise it’s horse related!) that I had made this past fall in my introduction to the discipline class at MECA.

copyrightedhorsehair

Untitled 2014

horsehair and freshwater pearl

I’m super nervous to find out if I’ve been accepted. The book is being published out of a publishing house in Barcelona (yes Barcelona SPAIN). It’ll be a book of over 500 necklaces from around the world and I’d be ecstatic to be accepted into the book. If I am accepted I’ll be given a copy of the book and will just have to worry about shipping cost from Barcelona, which I’ll gladly do.

Leave a comment